Thank you for visiting the Iowa Department of Public Safety, Division of Criminal Investigation’s (DCI) Criminal History Record Check website. The Criminal History Record Check website is designed to give the general public an easily accessible location to obtain Iowa criminal history data. The fee for a criminal history record check obtained through this website is $15.00.
If you have previously conducted an Iowa criminal history record check through this website and are familiar with the requirements and the User's Agreement you may click here to begin your search: Begin Search.
ATTENTION: the criminal history data obtained through this website is limited to what is releasable, as allowed by law, without a signed waiver from the subject of your request, pursuant to Chapter 692.2 of the Code of Iowa.
This website will not provide criminal history data on any arrest information that is older than 18 months without a final disposition or any completed deferred judgment information. However, this website will provide all other arrest and conviction information on file with the DCI for that individual.
If you want to obtain complete Iowa criminal history data from the Iowa Department of Public Safety, Division of Criminal Investigation and you are able to obtain a waiver signature from the subject of your request on the forms provided by the DCI, please click here. You will be directed to the required forms to complete and submit with payment by mail or fax to the DCI for processing.
The DCI is the state of Iowa's central repository for criminal history data and responsible for maintaining all Iowa fingerprint-based criminal history records. Our criminal history database is comprised of records submitted to the DCI by law enforcement agencies and clerks of court throughout the state. Our criminal history database consists of arrest and conviction information for serious misdemeanors and felonies as well as some simple misdemeanors. The completeness of our criminal history data is dependent upon the information submitted by the law enforcement agencies and clerks of court throughout the state of Iowa. Therefore, the DCI cannot guarantee or certify that a person has not, in fact, been arrested or convicted in Iowa.
In 1996, Pursuant to Chapter 692.2 of the Code of Iowa, the DCI was granted legislative authority allowing the dissemination of criminal history data to the general public for a fee.
We hope you find this website easy to use. If you have any problems, please contact the Information Technology Enterprise at 1-800-532-1174.
- The cost for a criminal history record check is $15.00 per last name searched.
- Payment methods accepted are credit/debit card, master card, visa or discover card.
- You must be able to provide the following information on the subject of your request:
- Last Name
- First Name
- Date of Birth
- It is also recommended you provide the following when possible:
- Middle name
- Social Security number